My Garden Experiment

For those who don’t know-my fall/winter/spring job is as a 5th grade science teacher.  In the summer months I am housewife full on.

With that background, this will make more sense.

Anyway, I wish I had taken a before picture but this is the after.  As you can see half of my green beans are doing GREAT while the other half isn’t doing so well-at all.

competition and green beans

Hmmm…being the science teacher that I am, my mind immediately went to work and then my hands did.  I realized that this set me up for the PERFECT at-home, hands-on science investigation.  You see (If I had taken a before pictures, you’d actually SEE. But,  well, live and learn.)  I had gotten tired in my hoeing last week and only hoed half-way down the row.

A recent rain had made grass grow and invade the last half of the row, stunting its growth.   I quickly realized that this gave me the opportunity to do an at-home science experiment on the effects of competition on the growth of plants.  So, I went to work pulling almost all the grass out of the stunted portion and now I can’t wait to see if-with the competition removed-the green beans would begin to flourish and grow.

I also realized that this would make a great BLOG.  I’d title it:  “Competition Will Suck the Life Out of a Marriage”-or maybe I’d come up with something better.

 

married hands

Marriages were designed to flourish and grow.  The day a couple gets married is the day they are “planted”.  As with everything designed to grow, marriages have needs.  And, if those needs aren’t met or if things creep in and aren’t weeded out, competition can suck the life out of a marriage making it weak, stunted, and unfruitful.

Just a few things that compete for the attention and affection we should be “feeding” our marriages:  careers, hobbies, children, worries, fears…etc.  The list is long.

I just wonder, if we were to look at our marriages and see that they are not thriving, if we would stop and do some weeding, would our marriages-having it’s needs met again-begin to thrive, grow, and become fruitful.  Hmmm….sounds like a great at-home, hands-on life producing, worthy of our consideration experiment.

 

For the love of God, Family, and Science (which proves His existence) as it should.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Gardening, Marriage, wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

