Make No Provision for the Flesh

So, I just read the statement, repentance is a lifestyle.  Hmmm, I like that.   It states a truth that we have to come to terms with-we live in the flesh and the flesh is bent towards sinful behaviors that, left unchecked, will suck the life out of us one cookie at a time, one sexy photo at a time, one hit at a time.

flesh

The flesh has appetites and desires that will take us down unhealthy roads physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

How do we live in these times where every sinful desire can be satisfied in a moment’s notice?   Repentance.  Everyday.  Leading a lifestyle of repentance, or turning away.

repent sign

Of course we won’t have to turn around if we don’t head in that direction in the first place.  How do we do that?   Well, the Manufacturer’s Instruction Manual tells us to “make no provision for the flesh and its lusts”  Romans 13:14b.   Hmmm, do not provide.   What does that look like?

Here is one way I am “not providing”.  I cleaned out my pantry.   Really cleaned it out.

pantry empty

And then I restocked it.  Minus the cookies and chips and….well everything that I tended to not be able to stop eating when I knew I need to.  I am working to create a lifestyle of repentance by turning my back on purchasing and providing for my flesh.

pantry full

What about you?   Tired of being “bullied” by the flesh into doing things you later regret? Go with me and let’s start leading a lifestyle of repentance together.  What is one thing you can clean out?   Restock?

 

May God bless your efforts.

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

